PDA

View Full Version : What the ---- is this????


paumcd
03-23-2004, 12:58 PM
http://winpatch.net/

Got a message twice on a win2k system to go to this site.
Curious as to what it is.

TierraDelFuego
03-23-2004, 01:07 PM
well the Security Bulletin itself is genuine, and was used by one of the more recent virii doing the rounds but... the company is trying to sell you the fix. Got to support.microsoft.com and find the fix to it and download/install

looks like the company trying to sell is aware that your PC is not patched :(

Memphis
03-23-2004, 01:12 PM
In my honest opinion, these people need to be shot. :mad:

$20 for a free patch available from MS? I don't think so. :mad:

Me thinks I'll be e-mailing Microsoft about this one.


Right, thats MS informed (Hopefully). If someone with an anonymous (sp?) e-mail account could inform support@mmsoft.org that they should be hearing from MS soon I would be grateful (Don't really want to give them one of my addresses).

Neo
03-23-2004, 02:17 PM
Were exactly did you get the message to go to that site from?

emailrob
03-23-2004, 03:16 PM
Were exactly did you get the message to go to that site from?
if you click on the dl for your op system (i.e. win xp) it takes to you a payment page.
Shocking

Memphis
03-23-2004, 03:28 PM
if you click on the dl for your op system (i.e. win xp) it takes to you a payment page.
Shocking
I'm guessing he was talkin to the original poster rather than me. And my theory on that is an unpatched Win 2K with the Messenger service still running, hence the 'use the exploit and then get as many average Joe's to pay us to fix it' technique.

xdeity
03-23-2004, 05:30 PM
i think you have got a spybot/adware thingy on your system, so run adaware after updating it and it will get rid of the spyware stopping it from popping up with this screen to pay for something that is no doubt free if you want it from microswine, i mean microsoft

Elaine
03-23-2004, 06:13 PM
I really couldn't find any information on this. However the one thing that I did notice was when I did a whois on winpatch.net it came up as being in the same area as your IP is. You might want to have a look. Of course I'm not going to post his name here though.

NotAHacker
03-23-2004, 08:04 PM
In my honest opinion, these people need to be shot. :mad:

$20 for a free patch available from MS? I don't think so. :mad:

Me thinks I'll be e-mailing Microsoft about this one.


Right, thats MS informed (Hopefully). If someone with an anonymous (sp?) e-mail account could inform support@mmsoft.org that they should be hearing from MS soon I would be grateful (Don't really want to give them one of my addresses).And why is that. http://66.197.142.137/forums/images/smilies/biggrin.gif LOL