View Full Version : Unable to send email
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 06:52 AM
Hi,
I cant seem to be able to send email using my private email account. I use the 'configure outlook express' link in cpanel 8. This seems to add the account to the system registery. I can then access the account in Outlook. All seems ok. I can recieve email fine. However it won't let me send email. I have emailed my host (s3hoting.com) and they set up a test account and said it's fine.
I have also tried setting up the account manually in outlook express. still no good. I cannot send email with or without attachments/images/as plain text. I can recieve email weather or not it has attachments.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks alot,
craig :)
TierraDelFuego
03-17-2004, 07:03 AM
Craig,
What errors are you getting when you try to send email, try to be full as possible.
The most likely options are an error 551 which is mail relaying or a server not found error, but let us know what it is.
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 07:06 AM
Your server has unexpectedly terminated the connection. Possible causes for this include server problems, network problems, or a long period of inactivity. Account: 'dreamon', Server: 'mail.mama-kin.co.uk', Protocol: SMTP, Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Error Number: 0x800CCC0F
Exactly what I get from outlook.
cheers :)
TierraDelFuego
03-17-2004, 08:12 AM
Server: 'mail.mama-kin.co.uk'If that is true, then I take it you have an smtp server running from your home or ?
In most cases with hosting, certainly with my own, you buy the domain name and that forwards mail to an ISP account.
If this is the case then you would need to enter the smtp server of your isp, not as you have it.
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 08:25 AM
the SMPT server is set-up fine. I can log-on using the webmail and send from there (So i pressume the server's set-up fine) but I cant do it using outlook.
nightheart
03-17-2004, 08:32 AM
Stupid ?, but are the smpt settings in outlook set-up right? Are you actually running your own smpt server, or did whoever is hosting your domain give you an email account with it? If whoever is hosting the domain gave you an email account with it, then you need to get the correct settings from them for outlook.
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 08:43 AM
Will take a screenshot of what the settings are currently set to. But as i said I have used the automatic configuration thingy on cpanel 8 which was set up by the server owner i pressume. I'm almost certain that the settings are correct though. I have tried changin every setting possible. I have had it working at some point in time. Every now and then it does work. I just can't see what I do differently.
Im running Windows XP pro and using norton anti-virus if that makes a difference. and yes norton does scan incoming and outgoing emails.
cheers,
Craig
Ps. will s/s when I get home.
TierraDelFuego
03-17-2004, 08:55 AM
well can't say i have ever used OE with the auto config you are talking about but.. you should be able to access the setting from Tools, Accounts in OE or something like that. There should be a username and password, along with a POP3 and SMTP server. Is your POP3 server from your ISP is something different. Who is your ISP?
nightheart
03-17-2004, 09:02 AM
I think you should contact your host and ask them EXACTLY what the smpt settings are supposed to be. And I'd stay away from anything that autoconfigures something, since this is normally what happens. I'm assuming that your host is actually running a mail server and not just forwarding your emails as T said. BTW, WTF is s3hoting.com as www.s3hoting.com (http://www.s3hoting.com/) didn't bring up anything, nor did google.............
Anyway good luck, I'm off to bed.
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 09:03 AM
It's not my ISP. Its a hosting account I have with www.s3hosting.com (http://www.s3hosting.com)
I can access the settings fine. They seem to be fine though......... :(
TierraDelFuego
03-17-2004, 09:16 AM
either one of us is getting confused here :)
i use a hosting account for my domain ****.co.uk but that forwards to my ntl email account. So when someone sends me an email to my domain email address my hosting company has it setup to forward to my normal ntl email addy. Nobody knows, unless they look at the mx logs, that it is doing this. Similarly when I send an email from my domain email addy, it is being sent through my ISP's smtp server, it is that simple.
for your mail server to be mail.mama-kin.co.uk , you would either have to running a server, or they set up a server for you and you would be paying shed loads for it, not your normal £10 a year for a domain name. Can you ping mail.mama-kin.co.uk . Speak to your hosting co. and see if they have mail forwarding set up to an ISP account or whether you should have your own smtp server. If they say you have your own smtp server, but you can't ping it or it's IP address, then tell them so.
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 09:17 AM
Yeah. I pay £20 odd a month for my hosting which has been set up for me. See reseller one package on www.s3hosting.com (http://www.s3hosting.com)
TierraDelFuego
03-17-2004, 09:58 AM
well from http://www.s3hosting.com/plans/reseller.php , nothing on there about smtp, purely pop3 mailbox.....
as i said "Speak to your hosting co. and see if they have mail forwarding set up to an ISP account or whether you should have your own smtp server. If they say you have your own smtp server, but you can't ping it or it's IP address, then tell them so."
not much more we can do to help.
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 11:01 AM
I can send and recieve mail prefectly by logging in using the webmail also available on the cpanel.
Also here's my current settings...
http://www.mama-kin.co.uk/mail2.JPG
Using incredimale at the minuite to see if it makes a different and clearly not. just thought I'd mention that cos the s/s is from incredimail.
^Dylan
03-17-2004, 11:42 AM
theres no full stop inbetween mail and mama-kin in the outgoing mail server or is this simply an oversight? It should read mail.mama-kin.co.uk not mailmama-kin.co.uk like you currently have it.
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 11:57 AM
Hehe. Thanks. I just changed that. Still the same problem though. Which suggests that setting's wrong somewhere...
TierraDelFuego
03-17-2004, 12:17 PM
well the setting doesn't seem wrong to me.
Big Apologies, as I don't condone this, but trying to help you with your problem, but I telnetted into the server ok on port 25 for smtp and got the following
220-Rincewind.dnsanonymous.com ESMTP Exim 4.24
0
220-We do not authorize the use of this system
220 and/or bulk e-mail.
helo mail.mama-kin.co.uk
250 Rincewind.dnsanonymous.com Hello mail.mama-kin.co.uk [62.253.112.142]
mail from: ******** "where the asterisks are your email addy"
250 OK
rcpt to: *******
451 Temporary local problem - please try later
which suggests some problem their end, although you can send through webmail, unless I am getting that error due to relaying ?
try using 209.50.233.251 instead for your smtp server. Also see if there is any setting in advanced for the port, and make sure it is set to 25. Apart from that, do you have a firewall as well as AV?
Further to that try doing as I did above in telnet, so go to a command prompt, then type
telnet mail.mama-kin.co.uk 25
follow the above where the bold is what you type and the normal text is the response you should receive. From the
rcpt to: ******* you should receive
250 Accepted
data
354 Enter message, ending with "." on a line by itself
Subject:Test Message
This is a test message.
.
250 OK id=******
quit
221 mailhub.somedomain.com closing connection
Connection closed by foreign host
if this sends and you receive it all is ok on the server. if not phone/email the company.
MamaKin
03-17-2004, 12:24 PM
Thats fine. No need to appologise. Will i recieve it at my main account?
Thanks,
Craig :)
TierraDelFuego
03-17-2004, 01:07 PM
you can specificy the email address to send from and to in the mail from: and rcpt to: part
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.